GSO Test


Each day children have access to milk and fruit.  The children are provided many fun activities to help them develop as learners. 

Child-initiated learning helps children develop in each area of development outlined in the Early Years Foundation Stage framework. It is linked to each child’s age and stage of development.

The curriculum for the early years now consists of 3 prime areas. These areas cover the knowledge and skills which build the foundations for children’s school readiness and future progress. These are applied and reinforced by four more specific areas of development.

Guidance on your child's learning and development in the early years foundation phase can be found by following the link below and is supported by the Department for Education.

The Learning Challenge Curriculum 2023 - 2024

Term 1 - What happens when things change?

Term 2 - Why do we celebrate?

Term 3  - Who are the famous people in our books? 

Term 4  - Who can I ask for help?

Welcome Letter and Home Learning

Term 5 - Are all mini-beasts scary?

Term 6 - What happened to Jack's beans?

Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework

Statutory Framework for early years foundation stage


  • Communication and language: development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment, develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development: this involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive. It helps to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development: this involves helping children to develop a positive sense of both themselves and others around them. It helps them to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.


  • Literacy: development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters, helping them begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to help ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics: this involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and to help them describe shapes, spaces and measures.
  • Understanding the world: this involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community by providing opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive arts and design: this involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play and design and technology. 


Phonics at Riverside is taught through the Systematic Synthetic Phonics (SSP) programme, Essential Letters and Sounds.

Please open the document below to access further information on how Phonics is taught at Riverside Primary School and Nursery.

Phonics Overview

If you require further information and support, it can be accessed via the videos and links below or by asking your child's teacher.